• en
  • ru
  • zh-hans
  • it

European Economic Area

The European Economic Area countries (EEA) is a union of 28 member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

The EEA has a group of three non EU countries which are also a part of the single-market and share the same freedom of movement as EEA nationals. These countries are Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

Switzerland is neither part of the EU or the EEA. It is a part of the single-market and therefore, shares the freedom of movement as well. Non EEA countries may still access the single-market if they have relevant bilateral treaties.

The single-market is constantly evolving so it is important to be aware of what rights affect your immigration status and your rights to work and live across the EEA.

All countries that are part of the EU are subject to the EEA regulations and law. For example, the Court of Justice of the European Union’s recent judgment in the case of Zambrano (C-34/09). The effect of this judgment is that it creates a right to reside and work where the applicant is the ‘sole carer’ of a dependent British citizen. As a result, the Home Office will issue a certificate to enable a person to reside in the UK while awaiting a formal decision, to those who are able to produce the following documents:

  • Evidence that the dependent national is a British citizen;
  • Evidence of the relationship between the applicant and the British citizen; and
  • Evidence of dependency between the applicant and the British citizen.

If you are a European Citizen and wish to reside in the UK, our immigration team will be happy to provide expert advice. Immigration is a complicated area and can be very time consuming, but our team will do their best to ensure you receive the best possible outcome at a fast pace.

What do I do next?

Contact us online or speak to one of our dedicated specialists on 0207 998 7777 for a free initial consultation. With our vast experience in the field, our bilingual speaking team will work with you to ensure this process runs as smooth as possible. All information you provide us with is treated with the utmost confidentiality.

We will contact you no later than the next working day to arrange a meeting at our offices in London W1 to advise on the agreement.

Back to Immigration

Other Legal Services